12 replies to this topic

#1 aquaelvis

aquaelvis

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 07:40 AM

Some of you have used the Nikon Primos line and had good things to say. I am looking for a scope for my AR and was going with a Nikon. (any one who had not tried one should! Great glass) Anyway, I have a buckmaster on my tikka. I don't really use the side focus, but I get it is nice to have. (if needed) I am not able to get "deals" on the primos line, but they are on sale for as low as $200 onlne. I can get the model number 6320 3x9x40 (bdc matte) for $125. (out the door- cheapest I found online was $160 plus shipping/tax) The buckmaster would not be that much more, maybe $160? Has anyone researched these and can save me some time? Pros and cons? My first thought is that for $125 the prostaff would be great for a carry-around rifle like my AR. Should I go with 40 or bump it up to 50? (3-9x50) I hunt yotes in the early AM and evening, more light would be nice. There should be plenty of room on the AR right?

#2 D-Man

D-Man

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,482 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 08:10 AM

The Primos one is the Monarch from last year, it does around 95% light transmission and has the BDC. Pro Staff has 90% light transmission, and the Buckmaster falls in the middle. All have a lifetime warranty. I have the Primos on my Mini-14 and my daughter has the Pro Staff (with BDC) on her 7mm-08. Biggest difference is in very low light conditions. You can pick up the Primos one from Mid South Shooters for right around $209. Other nice thing is the elevation / windage adjustments on the Primos are nicer then on the Pro Staff. All great scopes though.Darren

#3 aquaelvis

aquaelvis

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 08:20 AM