Photo

How are you guys holstering your sidearm when Coyote hunting?

• Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1 wannakillacoyote

wannakillacoyote

"You can call me WKC"

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,951 posts
  • Interests:Hunting....Predators, Varmints and Upland Game but would like to try larger game.
    Computers....It's what i do for a living and sometimes for fun.
    Movies
    Spending time with the Family

Posted 22 July 2008 - 10:28 AM

I will be carrying my XD Subcompact 9mm this season while Coyote hunting. I have a regular belt holster as well as a Military style leg holster that I can use. They are both uncomfortable (maybe I need some sort of suspenders to take the weight off) so I am trying to get some other ideas. I was thinking during the winter of getting a vest with the holster attached to it (again military style) and in the hotter months using a shoulder holster. It needs to be open carry, but comfortable.What are you guys using?
Posted ImageA well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

#2 Jeff

Jeff

SacramentoSkullWorks

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,797 posts

Posted 22 July 2008 - 10:39 AM

I carry a drop thigh holster for my XD 45. It's just in the right spot and out of the way when crouching, moving, etc.
Sacramento Skull Works ...on Facebook!
Using Dermestid beetles to produce museum quality skulls for your trophy collection.
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

#3 CoyoteHuntress

CoyoteHuntress

Royal Oaks Taxidermy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,920 posts
  • Interests:Im a full time taxidermist and I LOVE Hunting- coyotes, bobcat, bear, boar, elk, deer etc..

Posted 22 July 2008 - 10:55 AM

Hubby carries it on his belt.. I carry my rifle..
Royal Oaks TaxidermyAward Winning Taxidermist...When Quality Counts! DEER CAPES WANTED

#4 wannakillacoyote

wannakillacoyote

"You can call me WKC"

• Members