• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 wannakillacoyote

wannakillacoyote

"You can call me WKC"

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,951 posts
  • Interests:Hunting....Predators, Varmints and Upland Game but would like to try larger game.
    Computers....It's what i do for a living and sometimes for fun.
    Movies
    Spending time with the Family

Posted 05 April 2008 - 11:41 AM

I went to the Gun Show today at the Kern County Fairgrounds. There were at least three different dealers selling lowers and complete AR's. Each one had a different design to make the Magazines fixed. One had a Bullet Button, one had the Prince 50 Maglock Kit (takes a allen wrench to remove) and the other guy it looked as though he glued the Mag Release with a big glob of rubber cement. I talked with a couple of them, one (using the Maglock Kit) said he keeps a bullet button on his at home, but he uses the Maglock when in public. He said it's all open to interpretation and that the Maglock Kit was "more legal". He also said, if you use the Bullet Button and release the mag, you can now accept a High Cap magazine which make the AR illegal. This is basically what aquaelvis has been saying. I heard the dealer with the glued Mag Release say to someone "if it had any kind of removable magazine, it would be illegal".Just stirring it up. I for one feel the bullet button makes my AR completely legal.It just amazes me how at one small show you can have dealers selling items in different configs and giving different advice.
Posted ImageA well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

#2 jim d

jim d

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 589 posts

Posted 05 April 2008 - 05:54 PM

Read the 2007 Dangerous Weapons Control Laws will tell you what is legal. You can find the laws on the DOJ website Firearms division.

#3 Robs223

Robs223

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip