7 replies to this topic

#1 D-Man

D-Man

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,482 posts

Posted 05 April 2008 - 10:05 AM

Getting ready to start reloading my .45 ACP. Can't find it anywhere, so I am guessing the answer is "No!" Do you guys chamfer the neck of your straight wall pistol cartridges or not? I know a newbie question, but rather ask those that know then to do something stupid. I know one of the dies in the set bells the mouth of the brass a bit to accept the bullet, but still wondered if a chamfer would help or not.Darren
Blessed be the Lord, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle; - Psalms 144:1
Fellow Team Savage member and Team Ruger! Semper Fidelis!
NRA Certified Instructor / Multi-state CCW Instructor

#2 moontiger

moontiger

Predator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Interests:I am a tattoo artist , and a navy vet, my kids and my wife are my world . I am just now getting back into hunting , but have been an avid shooter all my life.

Posted 05 April 2008 - 10:07 AM

I used to reload .38 spcl and I never had to , and the guy who taught me had been and still reloads , so i say no need
There is room for all of Gods creatures...............Right next to my mashed potatos.PETA People for the Eating of Tasty Animals

#3 rr762mmfmj

rr762mmfmj

Predator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 385 posts

Posted 05 April 2008 - 01:06 PM

Well, you would usually chamfer a case after it has been trimmed to length. I think you will find that strait walled pistol cases shrink after repeated loadings, so you should not need to chamfer. As far as the case mouth being belled by the die, the crimp after bullet seating should eliminate the slight amount belled. I highly recommend buying a taper crimping die for use with the .45ACP.

#4 D-Man

D-Man

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,482 posts

Posted 05 April 2008 - 01:36 PM