Photo

What Sling are you guys using on your Hunting AR's?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 wannakillacoyote

wannakillacoyote

"You can call me WKC"

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,951 posts
  • Interests:Hunting....Predators, Varmints and Upland Game but would like to try larger game.
    Computers....It's what i do for a living and sometimes for fun.
    Movies
    Spending time with the Family

Posted 31 March 2008 - 02:12 PM

Hey guys, me again. As you probably know I just finished my AR M4 recently. I bought a singlepoint sling for it (Spec.-Ops. Lonestar Single Point Sling) and while I have no doubt this is a good setup for busting down doors, with bullets flying, it seemed to be a PITA (or nuts or legs) when hunting yesterday. I am having a hard enough time carrying my fold up stool, shooting stick etc. without this think banging around on my front.Anyways, I am thinking of just going to a standard 2-point sling. What are you guys using for your Hunting AR's? My AR has the sling points already front and back, so I guess I would need something with the nylon and a buckle (I don't see how Uncle Mikes QD slings would work).
Posted ImageA well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

#2 clampdaddy

clampdaddy

Chief Feathercloud

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,058 posts
  • Interests:Shooting, Hunting, Reloading, Antique Tractors, Clampin', and Relaxing

Posted 31 March 2008 - 06:49 PM

I don't have an AR but last year I got one of those leather "Montana" slings and it is awsome. There are no buckles to mess with. It uses a kind of friction knot that holds very firmly but is still quick and easy to adjust. I think they come in black but I'm not 100% sure.
My guns are mine, they aren't for sale, and I only give guns to people that I really like. So I guess the government is **** out of luck.

#3 Robs223

Robs223

Shooter