• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 wannakillacoyote

wannakillacoyote

"You can call me WKC"

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,951 posts
  • Interests:Hunting....Predators, Varmints and Upland Game but would like to try larger game.
    Computers....It's what i do for a living and sometimes for fun.
    Movies
    Spending time with the Family

Posted 01 March 2008 - 12:19 PM

Hey guys me again. :)OK I am in the process of building a AR for general varmint work and to hopefully be my main carry around Yote rifle. It will be a Carbine, so 16" barrel, adjustable stock and lightweight. I'm still trying to decide whether to get a complete flat-top or go with the flip down removable sight with the front post. I am leaning towards the flip down rear sight, a gas block on the front with a removable front sight. So I think I have the iron sights figured out, but I want some sort of optics. I already have a cheapy BSA red dot I picked up at wallyworld to play with years ago. I also have a Simmons WTC18 6.5-20x50AO scope I was planning to put on my next bolt gun in 204 or 243.Anyway, I could use the WTC18 (maybe overkill for around here plus a little much for a carbine) or the cheapy red dot or pick up another scope. Maybe something in the 3-9X40 flavor?After talking with Woodog at 10percent the other day he mentioned the terrain around here doesn't really require long range 200+ yds shots and that most of the stuff would be 100yds or less. At that distance I know my WTC18 is too much.Whatya guys think?
Posted ImageA well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

#2 aquaelvis

aquaelvis

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts

Posted 01 March 2008 - 02:32 PM

Lots of options... 3-9x40 would be nice. I went for the 6-18x40 Nikon Buckmaster on my Tikka and it is over-kill for the stuff I have seen.

#3 Robairto

Robairto

Squirrel Shooter