7 replies to this topic

#1 neocone

neocone

Predator

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 284 posts

Posted 10 August 2007 - 12:53 AM

I am a newbie but from what I see most hunters prefer weapons with > 1500 Joules muzzle power revolvers. Now I understand how hard it would be to use a regular semi auto chambered for a .45 round, but I suspect this puts a hunter on par with archery i.e 20-40 meters effective range (or 20-40 yards :-)).Anybody ever have stories of hunting with a semi auto?This is out of curiosity, as my other weapon of choice is a 1012 S&W :-)

#2 clampdaddy

clampdaddy

Chief Feathercloud

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,058 posts
  • Interests:Shooting, Hunting, Reloading, Antique Tractors, Clampin', and Relaxing

Posted 10 August 2007 - 02:41 PM

All of my huntung experiance with an auto is limited to small game and 22s....not very exiting. :wedgie[1]: You didn't mention what size game you plan on hunting but I'm assumeing you're thinking along the lines of deer and possibly hogs. If you are going into the woods with the intent on takeing game with an auto pistol I'd look past the .45 GAP and get something like a 10mm or a standard 45acp with +P ammo (a .45 super would be better yet). It sounds like you already have a good idea of what the range limitations of most auto pistol rounds are ( I'd give the 10mm or 45 super with tough, heavy bullets 30 more yards worth of range) but you can't really compare pistol rounds to arrows. Arrows don't go very fast or pack much energy but they'll still pass completly thru some REALLY large game. That's where the GAP is going to fall short (no pun intended). The loads that are made for them are designed for shooting at people and probably wont reliably deliver deep penetration on game.
My guns are mine, they aren't for sale, and I only give guns to people that I really like. So I guess the government is **** out of luck.

#3 rr762mmfmj

rr762mmfmj

Predator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 385 posts