Jump to content


Photo

.223 H335 Load question


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 sangerpb

sangerpb

    Predator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fresno, CA
  • Interests:Shooting, ATV, Computer Games

Posted 07 May 2007 - 10:04 PM

I'd like some input from you guys. I just finished loading 3 sets of 10 new loads I'm trying. This is the second time I've loaded and the first time I've loaded by myself. I ended up ruining a couple in the press and had to redo about 4. The first 2 went smooth, but I bumped the scale and didn't notice I moved the amount up by 1 grain. So instead of the max at 25 grains I had somewhere between 25-26. I excluded the last 2 rounds I loaded, but what I'd like to know is if I can shoot these two rounds safely. Thank you.

#2 Frank

Frank

    Big Kahuna

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Beach, Ca
  • Interests:Coyote Hunting #1, Valley Quail 2nd. Former (Idaho) mule deer hunter

Posted 08 May 2007 - 06:12 AM

Hard to say, Sanger. Just depends... on lots of things. What pressure signs, if any, were getting with the 25 gr loads? Temp plays a BIG part. In cooler, especially 65 degrees & under, the loads can be hotter with no problem.Personally, I would just pull the bullets, weigh the charge again, & seat new bullets in them. Not worth the risk of blowing a primer or pitting the bolt face, or worse in other words. Just MHO is all.Good LuckFrank

#3 sangerpb

sangerpb

    Predator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fresno, CA
  • Interests:Shooting, ATV, Computer Games

Posted 08 May 2007 - 07:00 AM

cool. I'll just pull the bullets and re-weigh.

#4 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

    Admin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern, CA
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 08 May 2007 - 07:12 AM

That's the safest thing to do. Frank is right on about possible problems. It's always better to be safe than sorry.

Time waits for no one--
treasure every moment you have.


#5 sangerpb

sangerpb

    Predator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fresno, CA
  • Interests:Shooting, ATV, Computer Games

Posted 08 May 2007 - 08:23 AM

That's the safest thing to do. Frank is right on about possible problems. It's always better to be safe than sorry.

No problem, now that I know the process it goes pretty quick? If i tap out the bullet I don't have to resize the neck? I just need to measure powder and repress?

#6 Frank

Frank

    Big Kahuna

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Beach, Ca
  • Interests:Coyote Hunting #1, Valley Quail 2nd. Former (Idaho) mule deer hunter

Posted 08 May 2007 - 02:10 PM

You are correct....

#7 sangerpb

sangerpb

    Predator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fresno, CA
  • Interests:Shooting, ATV, Computer Games

Posted 08 May 2007 - 03:44 PM

sweet! makes me happy! I'm going to try to load a few more today.

#8 Stiff Neck

Stiff Neck

    Big Shooter

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,070 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 May 2007 - 10:20 PM

If i tap out the bullet I don't have to resize the neck? I just need to measure powder and repress?

I wouldn't do that. If you remove the bullet, you should resize the neck before you re-insert the bullet. Otherwise it probably won't shoot like the other ones. Consistency is the key to accuracy.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users