20 replies to this topic

#1 tawnoper

tawnoper

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,813 posts

Posted 06 March 2007 - 09:42 AM

Well, my camera finally bit the dust. I've been using a Olympus Stylus for the last 4-5 years and it's been a decent camera but it's having a few issues now so I think I'll get a new one. You guys have any suggestions for a new digital? I know squat about cameras...I'd like to get something that is small and will fit in my pocket, has a timer function and takes decent pictures day & night. thanks.
ProStaff - ProStaff - Field Staff - I'm very important!

#2 fiveflat

fiveflat

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts

Posted 06 March 2007 - 09:48 AM

The Canon elph or I think it's called a powershot now. I bought one for my wife about a year ago. Fits in my shirt pocket and is up near 6.0megapixels. For under $300. Also takes short video clips.
Sheldon

#3 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

Admin

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,473 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 06 March 2007 - 09:56 AM

Ed, I went with my uncle to pick out a new digital for him to use since printing pictures is old school. He has a computer and uses it daily he is also 86. He wanted something very easy to use and would take great pictures. This is what we got for him. http://www.nikonusa....productNr=25559He took it to Hawaii and has shot over 500 pictures with it so far and they look great. The new cameras are smarter than the users. They seem to adjust easily to make even poor lighting situations come out nice. There is another new model below this one an S200 but it was so small it was difficult to hold even for me. The really amazing things about these new cameras are the mega pixel size and his is 7.1. My favorite Nikon the D70 is half that but I can at least change lenses. The Nikon he got is a great camera and when my Nikon 3200 dies or my wife won't give it back I'll by the S500.