rws34hunter

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Interests:Hunting and cooking

Posted 09 December 2012 - 03:16 PM

Hi,

My name is Sam, and I am new to the CPC forum and live in Los Angeles. I started hunting doves and rabbits when I was about 16 years old; about 4 years ago, I got back into hunting, mainly doves and waterfowl, from which I am addicted.

Anyway I recently ordered an air rifle and am interested in hunting rabbits and squirrels with it. I plan on scouting areas in the Castaic Lake area. I looked at the DFG maps, and this area falls in the D-11 zone (condor area). I am wondering if I need to use only non-lead pellets in this area??? I also have read everything on the DFG website and found conflicting regulations.

If anyone knows would you please comment? I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

Best,
Sam

#2 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

Admin

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,588 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 09 December 2012 - 03:53 PM

Pellet rifles or airguns do not need to use non lead pellets in California. They are not covered under the non lead condor zone regulations.

#3 KNOCKED UP

KNOCKED UP

Big Kahuna

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,854 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, archery,Reloading.
    Harley Davidson Motorcycles, and good people
    RETIRED

Posted 09 December 2012 - 06:44 PM

Welcome to the forum Sam.
Tom

#4 rws34hunter

rws34hunter

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 07:16 PM

Cool thank you, ShooterJohn and Tom!

#5 DirtyDave

DirtyDave

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,176 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 08:56 PM

Like John said, Air Rifles are not included in the ban. Even if you were using a Firearm/Rifle/Shotgun, you are allowed to use lead for Upland Birds and Small Game, so you would be good to go for that as well.

#6 Air Rifle Hunter

Air Rifle Hunter

Wildlife Sniper

• Gold Contributor