Jump to content


Photo

rcbs chargemaster combo


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 ehd

ehd

    Big Kahuna

  • Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Sonoma county
  • Interests:Predator hunting ,and hog hunting with my dogs.

Posted 25 October 2012 - 05:16 PM

Natchez has a great sale on the chargemaster combo for 289.00. how long do they take to fire up, and how hard are they to switch powders?. for instance you build some loads with Benchmark ,and then want to build some with h335? trying to decide if I am loading enough to justify it. Hate to buy something that will sit and collect dust

#2 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

    Admin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern, CA
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 25 October 2012 - 06:04 PM

Instantaneous to start up and just as fast to change powders. The only reason it might collect dust is because you'll have all of your cases loaded.
  • ehd likes this

Time waits for no one--
treasure every moment you have.


#3 modoc squeek shooter

modoc squeek shooter

    Big Shooter

  • Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,643 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Davis Creek, CA
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting, guns, and saddles,
    self appointed GURU of squeek shooting in Modoc County

Posted 25 October 2012 - 06:29 PM

I haven't bought one yet, but I have been eyeing them lol. I know a couple guys that got them and really love them. Ed

#4 ehd

ehd

    Big Kahuna

  • Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Sonoma county
  • Interests:Predator hunting ,and hog hunting with my dogs.

Posted 25 October 2012 - 06:32 PM

How about overheat? Just kidding.. Shot about 350 rds this week

#5 novaman64

novaman64

    Predator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Camino, CA
  • Interests:motorcycles, shooting, hunting, muscle cars, snow skiing, wakeboarding, barefooting, camping, horses, livestock

Posted 25 October 2012 - 08:40 PM

I jsut picked up a Lyman DPS 1200. Only reason I went with this one over the RCBS is it was cheaper.. Cabelas has them on sale for $219...

I will say this much, I definitely am doing more reloading, its so nice just to be abel hit a button and have a exact load dispensed then be able to try different powders and cartridges without all the fidgeting. Getting around to loading for stuff I had been putting off for a long time... Only downside I have found to the lyman is that it does take 30 minutes to warm up, but doesn't really bother me because normally I deal with primer pockets and prime all my brass so once it warmed up i throw loads, then press the bullets and it is ready for the next one, nice quick smooth process.

#6 Jason

Jason

    Big Kahuna

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Shooting, camping, scuba diving, American Revolution living history, fishing, ham radio.

Posted 26 October 2012 - 06:29 AM

My only regret is I didn't get one sooner. My brother and I live in the same town and we went in on one together. Knowing what I know now about how great it is I should have gotten it even if I had to pay the full cost myself.

#7 ehd

ehd

    Big Kahuna

  • Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Sonoma county
  • Interests:Predator hunting ,and hog hunting with my dogs.

Posted 26 October 2012 - 06:37 AM

i just ordered one! had a cabelas 75.00 off floating around the table so i used it. I ended up costing me 259.00. with some other stuff i got. Also it was a good fire season, so" what the hell" went into effect..

#8 ehd

ehd

    Big Kahuna

  • Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Sonoma county
  • Interests:Predator hunting ,and hog hunting with my dogs.

Posted 01 November 2012 - 06:52 AM

as soon as the ole chargemaster gets here ,i have 200 357 sig rounds and 100 rounds of 223 ready for a scoop of powder. there is allot of printed mis-information about that sig cartridge about how it headspaces. I did a little testing of my own. I took a fire formed case and inserted in the chamber of my stripped down Glock 31. i measured how far the rear of the case protruded out the back of the barrel. Next ,i then took the same case and trimmed .040 off of the case mouth and re-measured. Same protrusion.!! to double check this i then too the case and set the dies to bump the shoulder back .004, measured the protrusion and it was .004 lower in the chamber. As best as i could i measured the chamber ledge and there is no way you could ever reach it to headspace off of it, at least on a glock. I learned that despite most all reloading manuals data on this cartridge is wrong and could be dangerous by not headspacing off the correct place. for some reason the brass seems to get shorter on those cases with 4 or 5 loadings. I dont think its too critical as long as the shoulder to back of the case dimension stays correct. you will correct the col. with your bullet seating depth. Just need to also watch that all your brass is the same length for the crimp. I am just a novice at this and thought i would share what i found. Please chine in and tell us your thoughts..

#9 Kephers

Kephers

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manteca, Ca
  • Interests:Hunting and Shooting

Posted 02 November 2012 - 11:32 AM

I'm eyeing one of these right now! Its either a new rifle or that, or scope, bipod, ar 15 lower or something :/ so many wants so little money lol
OORAH! SEMPER FI!
Call Me Keith!
1 Round Varmint War!

#10 Kephers

Kephers

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manteca, Ca
  • Interests:Hunting and Shooting

Posted 02 November 2012 - 10:06 PM

ok pulled the trigger and bought the charge master combo from natchez for 289 and a bullet puller as well. Was like 320 with shipping and everything.
OORAH! SEMPER FI!
Call Me Keith!
1 Round Varmint War!

#11 ehd

ehd

    Big Kahuna

  • Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Sonoma county
  • Interests:Predator hunting ,and hog hunting with my dogs.

Posted 03 November 2012 - 06:01 AM

you will love it ! Very accurate and fast to bring up to speed. I still grab the balance scales and check it just for fun.

#12 Kephers

Kephers

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manteca, Ca
  • Interests:Hunting and Shooting

Posted 03 November 2012 - 11:30 AM

I'm waiting I have literally about 1000 223s to load up and about 300 25-06
OORAH! SEMPER FI!
Call Me Keith!
1 Round Varmint War!

#13 Fjold

Fjold

    Traveling hitman

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,776 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bakersfield, CA
  • Interests:Shooting, hunting and fishing.

Posted 03 November 2012 - 01:27 PM

The only issue that I had with mine is that when the utility electricity voltage varied (112V - 120V) that the charge weights would vary up to a couple of tenths of a grain. I solved it by plugging mine into a extra UPS that I had laying around for an old computer.
Frank
One rifle, one planet. Holland's 375
Posted Image

#14 ehd

ehd

    Big Kahuna

  • Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Sonoma county
  • Interests:Predator hunting ,and hog hunting with my dogs.

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:09 AM

i see that they have a trick with a straw to prevent over-charges. I have only had about 3 in a hundred. In that case i just dump it back in and throw another.I put mine on a separate table, that way i am not bumping it around loading charged cases.

#15 Kephers

Kephers

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manteca, Ca
  • Interests:Hunting and Shooting

Posted 04 November 2012 - 10:27 AM

Good idea. My reloading bench/computer desk is small especially now that I am running a customer gaming computer with 3 monitors. A lack of room is making me want to buy a way bigger desk. Of course in an apartment everything is limited but especially room. Once I have a house and a garage, I'm going to build a huge reloading, gun smithing area :)
OORAH! SEMPER FI!
Call Me Keith!
1 Round Varmint War!

#16 Kephers

Kephers

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manteca, Ca
  • Interests:Hunting and Shooting

Posted 12 November 2012 - 01:47 PM

Woohoo! Got mine in the mail today! I'm excited to use it! I just need some more 53 grain speer match hpbt's and a 1 pound jug of IMR 4198 and I'm gonna reload a few hundred.

Will do a review and let you guys see what I've got done. As soon as I can afford some powder and bullets. Friday, is payday so it will more than likely be this next weekend.
OORAH! SEMPER FI!
Call Me Keith!
1 Round Varmint War!

#17 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

    Admin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern, CA
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 12 November 2012 - 01:55 PM

It's best not to leave your ChargeMaster on your loading bench. The constant vibration from the press isn't good for sensitive electronic scales.

Time waits for no one--
treasure every moment you have.


#18 Kephers

Kephers

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manteca, Ca
  • Interests:Hunting and Shooting

Posted 12 November 2012 - 06:25 PM

This is true. I may have to set it up somewhere else temporarily. I always empty and put away all my reloading stuff. Nothing stays on the bench. As my bench is in the living room and my children have constant access. The only thing that stays is the press, which is mounted to my desk and then zip tied so the arm doesnt go up or down. they have a fascination with it thats for sure.
OORAH! SEMPER FI!
Call Me Keith!
1 Round Varmint War!

#19 zippy1970

zippy1970

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morro Bay , California

Posted 06 December 2012 - 07:52 AM

I have been thinking about getting one too . Been reading reviews about them . Most great , some horrible .

Can you guys that just bought them give an updated opinion on them in a month / couple thousand rds or so ?

I thought muscle spasms would hurt my reloading but now I can trickle powder better than ever ; )


Andy

#20 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

    Admin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern, CA
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 06 December 2012 - 08:04 AM

I've never known of any horrible reviews of the RCBS. I have heard of nightmares on copycat electronic powder measures. It's like people calling a four wheel drive a Jeep. There is only and has only been one Jeep.

Time waits for no one--
treasure every moment you have.


#21 ehd

ehd

    Big Kahuna

  • Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Sonoma county
  • Interests:Predator hunting ,and hog hunting with my dogs.

Posted 06 December 2012 - 09:05 AM

I love mine very quick and accurate. Couldnt be without it

#22 zippy1970

zippy1970

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morro Bay , California

Posted 06 December 2012 - 09:18 AM

SJ. I read them on Midways site . 1 or 2 claimed they got there machine and they never worked . Midway/ RCBS replaced it/ them no prob . Others said they broke after 2 years , can't get replacement due to 1 year warranty .

Check it out under reviews . Saw one that said they had a programming problem .

Andy

#23 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

    Admin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern, CA
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 06 December 2012 - 11:35 AM

Andy, RCBS will usually still repair them. I got one of the very first ones made as it was a replacement for the previous model RCBS put their name on. I have never had a problem with mine ever. I would bet most of those first time don't work reports is due to shipping as those semi trained apes that handle that stuff aren't very careful.

Time waits for no one--
treasure every moment you have.


#24 zippy1970

zippy1970

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morro Bay , California

Posted 06 December 2012 - 12:10 PM

I am taking it with a grain o salt .

My problem is I have some of the worst luck in the world at times . It eve rubbed off onto my GF too .

Andy


#25 nitis

nitis

    Predator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ione, CA

Posted 07 December 2012 - 12:11 PM

From what I understand after the one year warranty if it screws up they will replace it with a refurb or new not exactly sure but it costs about $45 to do so

Keep in mind this unit is made in china. The only one made stateside that I know of is the PACT and they are supposed to have a lifetime warranty. The hornady also closely resembles the rcbs which tells me it may very well be made in the same place!

#26 zippy1970

zippy1970

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morro Bay , California

Posted 07 December 2012 - 01:01 PM

they just make it red instead of green ?

Andy

#27 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

    Admin

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern, CA
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 07 December 2012 - 05:31 PM

And I'll bet you Hornady doesn't have anywhere near the warranty that the RCBS does.

Time waits for no one--
treasure every moment you have.


#28 zippy1970

zippy1970

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morro Bay , California

Posted 10 December 2012 - 12:24 PM

You guys convinced me . Ordered it today .

I'll be in the doghouse when it shows up but at least I can reload in peace .

Andy

#29 KNOCKED UP

KNOCKED UP

    Big Kahuna

  • Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brentwood california (The nothern ca. one)
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, archery,Reloading.
    Harley Davidson Motorcycles, and good people
    RETIRED

Posted 10 December 2012 - 03:47 PM

I have all RCBS gear, except for a Hornady trim lathe.
RCBS has been very good to me, except on one of my dies,
the brass set screw had a deformed brass screw, I called RCBS
and they had five spares in the mail immediately.
I don't think you can do any better than RCBS.
Tom

Life on earth is temporary, Choose your destiny Wisely.

#30 Kephers

Kephers

    Shooter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manteca, Ca
  • Interests:Hunting and Shooting

Posted 25 December 2012 - 05:43 PM

I have yet to actually use mine. Winter and kids have put a damper on my trigger time.
OORAH! SEMPER FI!
Call Me Keith!
1 Round Varmint War!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users