• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 BCF

BCF

Predator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, Fishing, Dirtbike riding. Anything outdoors. CNC programmer by trade.

Posted 12 July 2012 - 07:44 AM

Hi Guys, I just wanted to say a few things about this scope, which I have mounted to my RRA 20" Predator Pursuit AR.

The scope is very clear, and has helped me to take several coyotes since I've had it for a few months. I like the ability to dial in my range on the fly using the turrets. I don't really use the BDC, and wish I'd just gotten a standard reticle. I don't use the BDC because it's set to be used at 12x's zoom, and I never hunt at full zoom, so it's pretty much useless to me. I prefer to know my drop and adjust accordingly.

The scope also has a quick zero setting, where you lift the turret until it clicks, then turn it freely, push down, and reset zero. I'm not sure why I'd ever want to do this, and I really hate it. I was on a 3 day hunt a few weeks ago, and while sitting in the back of my truck, somehow the turret got lifted up, spun, and I lost my zero. It really sucked. Then, I discovered that actually- it had broke. I couldn't get it to snap back in and lock, so I couldn't use the rifle for the rest of the trip. No matter what, the turret could just spin free.

When I got home, I researched and found another guy had this happen to him also. I debated sending it back to get fixed. Then, I decided to take the turret apart, which I did. I found it was very poorly designed, and all that locked it down were tiny springs pushing very tiny (maybe .020 diameter) bearings into one of two grooves. First groove is locked, second groove unlocked and free.