• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Brant

Brant

StubExt

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,192 posts
  • Interests:Shooting, Hunting, PCP Airguns, Flying (home builts)

Posted 10 July 2012 - 04:40 PM

Someone is asking me what .22 PCPs are the most quiet on the market as he has nosey neighbors. I would think the .22 Marauder has to be very quiet as my .25 is pretty quiet. Any others you know of? I know he is more concerned about getting one in a hurry than price so untimely mods are out.

My .25 50 fpe Air Ranger w/ Huggett is slightly louder than my .25 Marauder. He asked specifically about Air Arms guns and FX but I have no experience with them.

Thanks in advance...

#2 Air Rifle Hunter

Air Rifle Hunter

Wildlife Sniper

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,872 posts
  • Interests:I've got so many I couldn't list them all. :)

Posted 10 July 2012 - 06:17 PM

I would agree. If he is looking for a .22 that is quiet, the Marauder Rifle or .22 Marauder Pistol will be pretty quiet. The impact of the pellet may still draw attention from nosey neighbors and as you know, the ping of the hammer resonating through the reservior adds the percieved loudness of the guns. I know the BSA Super 10 is pretty quiet too.

I've not personally heard any others I've not listed above, so those are the only .22 PCP's I can list from experience.

#3 rws fan

rws fan

Varmint Hunter

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Interests:My kids, shootin' stuff, hunting, hiking, scenic beaches, weather, running, imported beer, science, technology, fast cars, fast women, guns etc.

Posted 10 July 2012 - 07:42 PM

The .22 Marauder is ridiculous quiet. The first time my buddy shot his I thought it was broken and told myself I had to get me one.

Another quiet .22 PCP that I've shot was an FX Gladiator Mk2. I thought it was actually a little more quiet than a stock Marauder. The Gladiator sounds like a de-pinged .22 Mrod to me.

Henry

#4 Brant

Brant

StubExt