#1 Kephers

Kephers

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Interests:Hunting and Shooting

Posted 28 June 2012 - 10:10 AM

Picked up a Marlin XL7 in 25-06 a couple months back. Not a bad rifle for under 400 bucks. Price was like 350 I believe. Put a redfield 3-9x40 scope on it for 125$. reloaded some nosler 100 grain spitzers with h4831/imr4831. 2inch groups on some with the best being about .75 CTC at 100 yards when I do my part, its all stock no mods yet. I'm still breaking the barrel in. It only has about 70 rounds through it. I'm new to the 25-06 but this gun seems to like the hotter loads. It seemed the higher grain of powder I used the tighter my groups were. And the trigger on this thing is awesome. It has the pro fire trigger and I love it. Was shooting of a block of wood too because I forgot to pick up a bi-pod. Need to check and make sure the barrel is free floated also.

From you more experienced '06 users how do these things shoot from 100-500 yards? Its gonna be a pig rifle mostly I was thinking what is the furthest you'd go? I'm comfortable shooting out to about 300 yards but just so I know what do you think the max effective range of this caliber is?

Seems like a decent rifle for the money though. Gotta get my toys now before wife has our 4th baby in 4 years :/

#2 Divernhunter

Divernhunter

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,258 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, fun target shooting, reloading, collecting firearms. Also enjoy scuba diving and welding. Shoot 22RF to 50bmg.

Posted 28 June 2012 - 11:10 AM

There is a way to solve the baby a year problem.