#1 Kephers

Kephers

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Interests:Hunting and Shooting

Posted 28 June 2012 - 09:53 AM

What kind of tools/machines would we need to make our own barrels and receivers and other small parts? And what is the cost of that kind of a set up. I'm completely new to that, but was thinking in a year or so, when we get our house of trying some of it out. Just for hobby.
OORAH! SEMPER FI!
Call Me Keith!
1 Round Varmint War!

#2 docskinner

docskinner

Predator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 416 posts
  • Interests:Learning to navigate Cali hunting laws &amp; Regs. <br />Hunting, shooting, fishing.<br />

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:03 PM

Major items: a metal lathe, a mill, a heat treating setup, and the knowledge. The first three are easy to buy (not cheap to buy), the latter you could always take some course work for (both machining tech and gunsmithing). Then a whole crap load of files, stones, fixtures, etc. depending on what exactly you are going to make, and how safe you want the prodcut to be. Some parts can be made with a drill in a vise and some files, or just files, but others...

Not a light endeavor. Machining/metallurgy knowledge to begin would help (and help understand the complexity of how much more you need to learn). One of my retirement goals is to get some machining tech knowledge.

#3 dangerranger

dangerranger

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Interests:I am a shooter first and then a hunter. I shoot competitively, most recently in the American Single Shot Association. I have also shot Cowboy action, Silhoettes,etc.. I like to build guns as a hobby.

Posted 28 June 2012 - 04:25 PM

It all depends on how good of a gun you want!

Before you laugh, John Brownings first guns were made with hand tools only. Even the barrels were hand made and hand rifled. DR

#4 Bisley

Bisley

Big Kahuna

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,529 posts