2 replies to this topic

#1 homemade

homemade

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,153 posts

Posted 23 May 2012 - 08:12 PM

Well I started shooting NRA silhouette and I am borrowing a pistol from a friend while I get a pistol ready.
My question is what is the most economical way to get a tank and fill station for a pcp pistol?

I have a springer pistol I'm fixing up to use but it's for the scoped class and I want to build the new crosman silhouette with peep sights so just checking to see what it's going to cost to fill it.

#2 Air Rifle Hunter

Air Rifle Hunter

Wildlife Sniper

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,872 posts
  • Interests:I've got so many I couldn't list them all. :)

Posted 23 May 2012 - 09:02 PM

Depending out how extreme you want to get, you can get the following:

For a tank, you can either get a 17CF "Guppy" sized tank, a 66CF tank and in some instances a 88CF tank. The tank options depend greatly on where you purchase yours. Make sure to get a 4500PSI tank so that it will give you plenty of fills. The larger the tank, the more fills you will get. I have a 17CF "Guppy" tank from Joe Brancato at airtanksforsale dot com and I really like it. It makes filling out while I'm hunting easy and convenient.

For filling your tank, I would recommend getting an Oil-less Pancake Compressor that will pump to 100 or 150 PSI minimum. Then purchase the ShoeBox Compressor. This acts as a booster to compress the air further so that you can pump your tanks up to 4500PSI. The ShoeBox runs around $550 or so and the Oil-lessPancake Compressors can be purchased at your local Harbor Freight stores.