• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 BCF

BCF

Predator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, Fishing, Dirtbike riding. Anything outdoors. CNC programmer by trade.

Posted 23 May 2012 - 09:59 AM

I need help guys. I want to start bow hunting. Never done it. I have shot a decent amount of archery, though, because every summer my wife, son, and I take a vacation to Corsica where we shoot archery. I even won a contest last year, so I'm not too bad at it. We only shoot recurves.

I'm thinking I will still prefer rifle hunting, since that's the only type I've done, but I want to extend my season. I will mainly be hunting coyotes, rabbits, hogs and deer.

I am thinking that I want to go with a recurve, because it's not as complicated to learn about, and I can practice in my backyard, as my understanding is with recurves, you need to make closer shots. I also like the idea of taking game with a recurve. For me, less moving parts=less to go wrong. I figure I can get a compound bow, as I save money, and get more interested in bow hunting. Wrong thinking?

I am 5'11", 175 pounds and have a small/medium frame. I have no idea what bow to get, and how many pounds pull (40, 50, 55 pounds?). I've done a lot of searching, and see that I can get a (decent?) bow for around $200. What I don't understand is how strong a bow I need. If I get one that has too heavy a pull, I believe it will be too difficult to be accurate, but I need one strong enough to take a hog. I was going to wait until this August when I take vacation, and experiment with all the different recurves they have over there, but I'm thinking I want to get a bow BEFORE august.

Sorry, if you guys think I should search, instead of ask, but I need help!

THANKS!

#2 Thumper Dunker

Thumper Dunker

STICK BENDER

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,735 posts
  • Interests:Hunting ,Fishing , Wife ,Son ,Cat,Dog , My koi , Trad Bows.

Posted 23 May 2012 - 10:49 AM