11 replies to this topic

#1 45user

45user

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 13 May 2012 - 07:33 AM

So I took out my new Mac-1 tuned discovery out for first time yesterday to try out and I was little disappointed with accuracy. But I'm thinking it's probably the shooter :(As I was sighting it in it would make a nice group at 14 yards then I started shooting at 23 yards target and it would not group. I'm not totally new to rifle shooting. I am not that bad shot but it wouldn't group sometimes even at a closer range. I was shooting off of a sandbag from the bench. So what's the secret to shooting air rifle accurately?Thank you for your help!

#2 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

Admin

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,659 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 13 May 2012 - 08:59 AM

First what pellets are you shooting? Did you clean the barrel before you started? Next would be possible scope or rings problem?

#3 45user

45user

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 13 May 2012 - 09:11 AM

Ring or mount should be good to go as they were installed by Mac-1. But I found scope to have very sensitive eye relief (utg 4-16x40 ao). And also the grip on discovery is not fitting my hand well and can't seem to get a steady trigger pull (I'm used Macmillan A3 grip on my remington 700, I guess)And it seems like there's fluctuation in velocity in shot to shot. <_< It just seems like there are too many variables to consider. Brian

#4 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

Admin

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,659 posts

Posted 13 May 2012 - 09:16 AM

What pellets are you using they make a huge difference.

#5 45user

45user

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 13 May 2012 - 09:29 AM

Oh ;)JSB jumbo diabolo 15.9gr.

#6 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

Admin

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,659 posts

Posted 13 May 2012 - 12:04 PM