• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 BearWhoHunts

BearWhoHunts

Varmint Hunter

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Interests:I am into foraging of all kinds. Hunting for game is just one aspect. Every time I am out in the back country I am looking for edible, useful and medicinal flora and fauna. I am also constantly working on survival skills. Hunted as a boy for squirrel, rabbit and some upland birds. I am a farmer by trade and I work for an organic farm founded on ethical work practices.

Posted 02 November 2011 - 10:18 PM

Right now I am using some federal 140 grain barnes expander. They were the only lead free .357 I could find online when I was looking. I am going to be using .357/38 quite a lot in the condor area and have started reloading - anyone work up any interesting/effective hunting loads for yotes, pig, deer or rabbits?I am going to be using a few S&W K frames and a 1894c.
"Nature provides a free lunch, but only if we control our appetites." ~William Ruckelshaus

#2 Rob

Rob

The Varmint Guy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,396 posts

Posted 03 November 2011 - 04:26 AM

Nothing to add for 38/357 hunting lead free loads.However, I am building my own 38 spl steel shot snake shot loads for the condor (condum) area.I like my little S&W Airweight for snakes and attack varmints.Some of those pesky varmints have been zombie-ized and have no fear. :two-cents:

#3 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

Admin

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,159 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 03 November 2011 - 07:46 AM

I hope that steel shot doesn't damage the bore of your pistol.

Time waits for no one--
treasure every moment you have.

#4 Bisley

Bisley

Big Kahuna

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,538 posts
  • Interests:The three W's, whiskey, women, weapons. No particular order.

Posted 03 November 2011 - 12:19 PM