#1 lukem

lukem

Squirrel Shooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Interests:hunting, fishing, offroading, cooking

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:11 PM

hi im pretty new to hunting and am looking for a rifle suitable for medium to large game. a relative who is comming to town later this year suggested a .308 cartridge, but i would like some advice on a rifle that wont cost to much, but wont be a peice of crap. any suggestions are welcome

#2 Braz

Braz

Formerly know as Alpenliter

• Advertiser
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,785 posts
  • Interests:“Witnessing the Republicans and the Democrats bicker over the U.S. debt is like watching two drunks argue over a bar bill on the Titanic.”

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:24 PM

When you say medium to large, I'm not sure what you mean. If large is Elk, Moose, that kind of thing, then yep, the 308 will be just fine, maybe a bit small. But if you are talking deer as large, then the 308 is fine. You could even drop to like a .243 size for deer. So, what are you wanting to shoot?
[url="""]http://www.CallsbyBraz.com'>http://www.CallsbyBraz.com[/url]
Handmade Calls by Braz
"Suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress.. But I repeat myself."--Mark Twain

#3 lukem

lukem

Squirrel Shooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Interests:hunting, fishing, offroading, cooking

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:27 PM

thanks for replying braz. i guess i should have been more clear. a dear is probebly the largest game i would ever go for, but what i really need to know is if the .308 is too much for something smaller, say a yote or bobcat. thanks for any answers

#4 Fjold

Fjold

Traveling hitman

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,779 posts
  • Interests:Shooting, hunting and fishing.

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:31 PM