#1 Sharpshooter

Sharpshooter

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:Fishing shooting History and eating what I catch or shoot

Posted 31 August 2011 - 01:58 PM

I've decided I need a rangefinder but I have no experience with them. Any advice on which brands, models, features, etc. to look for? Also where to buy?

#2 Baja_Traveler

Baja_Traveler

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 665 posts

Posted 31 August 2011 - 03:37 PM

Really depends on how much you want to spend and what you are going to use it for.You can go top of the line and get a Leica, or low budget and get a Bushnell. Some are made specifically for archery, and some for long range rifle work.Personally I use a Nikon Riflehunter 550 for both archery and rifle hunting (heck, I even bring it on the golf course), and it has never let me down. I've compared it side by side to my calibrated Leica Disto high precision rangefinder I use for work (accurate to 1.5mm @ 100 meters), and it always gives readings within a yard of actual.Wait?? You've been a member since '08 and this is your first post ?!?! You get the lurking award...Shop around and look for sales. I bought mine at Bass Pro when they had a sale on them years ago.

#3 clampdaddy

clampdaddy

Chief Feathercloud

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Interests:Shooting, Hunting, Reloading, Antique Tractors, Clampin', and Relaxing

Posted 31 August 2011 - 03:51 PM

Get one that has more range than you think you need. They are rated based on how far out they can range a reflective target, like a car or a big rock. So a 1000 yard range finder may only be able to pick up a deer out to 600 yards or a ground squirrel standing on his mound out to 450. If they're further than the effective range then you have to find a good rock or tree to range. More expensive finders will probably do better but that is what you can expect from something like my Bushnell.

#4 Sharpshooter

Sharpshooter

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip