#1 Sharpshooter

Sharpshooter

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Interests:Fishing shooting History and eating what I catch or shoot

Posted 31 August 2011 - 01:58 PM

I've decided I need a rangefinder but I have no experience with them. Any advice on which brands, models, features, etc. to look for? Also where to buy?

#2 Baja_Traveler

Baja_Traveler

Shooter

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 663 posts

Posted 31 August 2011 - 03:37 PM

Really depends on how much you want to spend and what you are going to use it for.You can go top of the line and get a Leica, or low budget and get a Bushnell. Some are made specifically for archery, and some for long range rifle work.Personally I use a Nikon Riflehunter 550 for both archery and rifle hunting (heck, I even bring it on the golf course), and it has never let me down. I've compared it side by side to my calibrated Leica Disto high precision rangefinder I use for work (accurate to 1.5mm @ 100 meters), and it always gives readings within a yard of actual.Wait?? You've been a member since '08 and this is your first post ?!?! You get the lurking award...Shop around and look for sales. I bought mine at Bass Pro when they had a sale on them years ago.

If you can get arrested for hunting or fishing without a license, but not for being in the country illegally,… you might live in a country founded by geniuses but run by idiots.

#3 clampdaddy

clampdaddy

Chief Feathercloud

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,052 posts
  • Interests:Shooting, Hunting, Reloading, Antique Tractors, Clampin', and Relaxing

Posted 31 August 2011 - 03:51 PM