Photo

Best LEAD FREE 22-250 & 6mm Varmint Loads?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Rob

Rob

The Varmint Guy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,377 posts

Posted 26 August 2011 - 04:08 AM

What is your experience with:1. 40 gr. Nosler Lead FREE bullets - 22-250?2. 55 gr. Nosler Lead FREE bullets - 6mm Remington?I am heading to a "lead free zone" (I know all the political mumbo jumbo :two-cents:) and plan to have a few hundred of each for such occaisions or invitations to some cross fire parties in those controlled areas.I have been using H380 - 38 grs with my standard 40 gr. Noslers with great success in my bull barrelled Remington 700. Am I CRAZY :smiley-outta-here: to think that the LEAD FREE version will have the same success...but may group elswhere on the papaer at 100 yards?3. Finally gents....what about the Winchester 22LR Tin substitues...Tin....I guess this is the best they could come up with. I have no experience with these little 36 gr bullets except they are $#@$%^%^%&)* expensive.Many thanks for your time and council on LEAD FREE Noslers.

#2 Frank

Frank

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,759 posts
  • Interests:Coyote Hunting #1, Valley Quail 2nd. Former (Idaho) mule deer hunter

Posted 26 August 2011 - 08:51 PM

What is your experience with:1. 40 gr. Nosler Lead FREE bullets - 22-250?

AWESOME ! One of several 22-250 loads consists of 36.5 grs of RL 15 with the 50 gr Nosler bal tip. We increased that to just 37 grs & stuffed it with the 40gr Lead free, resulting in AMAZING accuracy & one very messed up coyote with that load. It was BADCOYOTE's dad that did that btw.

I have been using H380 - 38 grs with my standard 40 gr. Noslers with great success in my bull barrelled Remington 700. Am I CRAZY to think that the LEAD FREE version will have the same success...but may group elswhere on the papaer at 100 yards?