• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 jono1798

jono1798

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Interests:Fishing. cycling. golf. wing chun. tinkering in the garage on just about anything. Movies. My Aussie cattle dog "chopper" and now hunting

Posted 01 June 2011 - 09:00 PM

I'm in the market for a new set of boots. I'm new to hunting and I plan on going after deer, boar and rabbit....possibly a few birds too. I'm a bit confused as to what level of insulation to get, and I presume they should be water proof...What is a good boot to suit any hunting occasion? Should I go leather or synthetic?

#2 turkeyman85

turkeyman85

Juan Galindo- Last Light Taxidermy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Interests:Deer hunting, turkey hunting, carving turkey calls.
    Juan Galindo- Last Light taxidermy

Posted 01 June 2011 - 09:16 PM

any Irish setter. I have the upland game boot thats leather and has 200 grams of inslate (spelling)? they are a great boot. Lightest leather boot Ive owned two with the pair weighing in at 2 pounds I think. If your looking for camo boots they also have a good selection of light weight, waterproof and water resistant boots.

#3 turkeyman85

turkeyman85

Juan Galindo- Last Light Taxidermy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Interests:Deer hunting, turkey hunting, carving turkey calls.
    Juan Galindo- Last Light taxidermy

Posted 01 June 2011 - 09:18 PM

OH YA DONT BUY WOLVERINE BOOTS THEY ARE HORRIBLE!!! Ive only have had mine for two seasons and have walk through them. Very weak midsol and a over all crappy boot.

#4 ratassassin

ratassassin

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,669 posts
  • Interests:Handloading, hunting, target shooting.

Posted 02 June 2011 - 06:06 AM

My favorite uninsulated boot is the 8" Danner Pronghorn for Cabela's, although I also have a pair of 9" Cabela's Outfitters that are comfortable and well built. I have a pair of Irish Setters that are insulated.