13 replies to this topic

#1 Yateswell

Yateswell

Shooter

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 917 posts

Posted 18 May 2011 - 05:39 PM

I’m new to reloading and have been doing some reading and research. Recently the question of “right” case length and case overall length come across and I don’t know the answer to it, hopefully you experienced guys can shed some light on this.I’m reloading for my bolt action .223Rem rifle, I trim the case to 1.76” according the reloading manual and set the COL as long as possible that the bolt can close normally. I can now get sub 1” group at 100 yard. Am I doing the right way? Is there a better/accurate way to figure out the “correct” case length and COL for the gun I’m reloading for? Or is this something even worth worrying about?

#2 204destroyer

204destroyer

Predator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts

Posted 18 May 2011 - 05:54 PM

Thats the way I do the 204. Sounds correct to me.

#3 Desert Fox

Desert Fox

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,163 posts
  • Interests:Target shooting, Hunting, Reloading, Fishing, Camping

Posted 18 May 2011 - 06:03 PM

COAL - Cartridge Over all Length. This is the measurement from the base of the loaded case to the tip of the bullet.Case Length - This is an actual length measured from the base of the empty case to the tip of the neck. SAAMI has standardized the length of every cartridge that are on their list. Each case has a specific measurement for maximum and minimum length. If your measurement is above the maximum, the case had to be trimmed to spec.Cartridge Overall length can be dictated by the rifle magazine internal dimensions. You want to make sure that the loaded round will fit the magazine. Most rifle will shoot accurately with the bullet seated closer to the land... at least .010" off the land. VLD bullet like' it much closer...sometimes even kissing or touching the land. Your rifle will tell you.