• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 killerdan

killerdan

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Interests:I love to fish and hunt, I am going to make it my goal to get back into hunting this year.

Posted 06 May 2011 - 01:52 PM

I also broke down and bought a e-caller today, I have been looking in the clasifieds for a used FoxPro Firestorm. I did some research on the Appache 610 from West River, comes with 200 sounds, you can buy them for around $280- 300. Since I am new to this sport I took my time to read a bunch of reviews on it. What I cam across was that the early ones had some problems but the newer ones are fine and in differnt posts that I have read the hand remote works well over 200 yrs away,has nice loud clear sound to it and very easy to use. I am going to start using this and I will give my own review on it. Cabelas has this on sale for $199.00, great deal.

#2 Frank

Frank

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,759 posts
  • Interests:Coyote Hunting #1, Valley Quail 2nd. Former (Idaho) mule deer hunter

Posted 06 May 2011 - 02:47 PM

Congrats on your new call, Killer. At face value, it looks like you got a heck of a deal. Maybe a steal? Gotta be, since it almost looks like a foxpro. LOL... J.K.! Of course we will not know how good you did until after you've had it for awhile. Anyway, I looked at the Cabelas reviews & with the exception of one in particular, they were good IMO. The fast dying battery complaints were likely absurd, as most, if not all units that hold 8, AA batteries die pretty quick. There is an easy fix to that, and that is just use Lithium batterys. Problem solved! Forget them re-chargable pain in the butt batterys.That one negative review seemed to complain of "electronic" problems, which even foxpro units happen on occasion. So not sure how much stock I put into that complaint? Anyway, look forward to your results and Good Luck :sport037fn4: Frank

#3 killerdan

killerdan

Plinker

• Members