12 replies to this topic

#1 SFSMedic

SFSMedic

Squirrel Shooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 07:25 AM

So I have been mostly a lurker with a few questions previously on here with great results. Thank you for that. I took the next step and finally got my HSC done as well as paid for my hunting license and picked up a pig tag. Now I am trying to put together my gear. I would appreciate to hear from the experienced here about what sort of things as a beginner I should be taking with me on a day hunting trip. If I try to figure this out on my own without input I know I will be packing in twice as much as I need and still be forgetting something. Obviously I have my rifle already and thats about it. I have gear from when I was in the military so that will be a go to for stuff as well.

#2 big jon

big jon

Varmint Hunter

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 184 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 07:50 AM

How about a very good knife and a way to sharpen it or another knife. Rope to suspend your game and to drag it out. i take a game bag too so as to pack out the inners, if you like to eat them. GPS, Cell phone, small flash light and basic survival gear. Oh a VERY GOOD rifle sling. I take a good but small set of wide eyes too.

#3 SFSMedic

SFSMedic

Squirrel Shooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 08:04 AM

Do you guys where electronic shooting ears when you hunt? I know mine actually amplify ambient noise until I fire when I am at the range so I can hear better.

#4 Rob

Rob

The Varmint Guy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 03:58 PM

What...what ...I can't hear you because I didn't protect my hearing....hun...what???Ears on...shoot....ears off...stalk....ears on...shoot. :sport037fn4:

#5 Bennie

Bennie

Big Shooter

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,912 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, Fishing, Shooting.

Posted 22 February 2011 - 04:39 PM