11 replies to this topic

#1 Dan

Dan

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 12 September 2006 - 06:32 PM

I'm going on my first pig hunt this March on the Work Ranch in Monterey. I'll be using my Remington 700 in 30-06. The ranch has condors, so they have asked that I use Barnes bullets. I'm not that happy about it, but I don't have a say in it. I've never used Barnes before. Are they good pig bullets? I was looking at their site and the MRX bullets caught my eye. Are they any good for pig? What about the Triple-Shock? I'm the kind of guy that's wary of things like lead-free bullets, so any info. from people who have reloaded with these bullets would be great. I don't necesarily need full loading data, just general opinions about expansion performance, penetration, etc. Thanks.

#2 Soreloser

Soreloser

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 571 posts
  • Interests:Anything Archery and of course my 22-250 vs. coyotes..

Posted 12 September 2006 - 07:40 PM

I've killed a hog with a .22 mag with one shot... Point is no matter what you shooting, if you hit em' right you'll kill it, you shouldn't have any problem with any bullet from a 30-06.
Tim LewisFoxPro Prostaff

#3 Cranky Farmer

Cranky Farmer

smallblockfuelie

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,436 posts

Posted 12 September 2006 - 09:00 PM

I've killed a hog with my ugly mug before!

Hey, I believe it!

#4 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

Admin

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,156 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 13 September 2006 - 08:31 AM

You won't have any problems killing one with a .30-06. :(

Time waits for no one--
treasure every moment you have.

#5 Fjold

Fjold

Traveling hitman

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,779 posts
  • Interests:Shooting, hunting and fishing.

Posted 13 September 2006 - 08:45 AM