30 replies to this topic

#1 BC9696

BC9696

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,488 posts

Posted 02 April 2010 - 08:32 AM

Trying to determine the best overall make, model and fuel option for powering my residence in the event of a long term blackout. Need to run 2 fridges and 2 freezers and would like to power some lights and my pool pump periodically as well. Don't want gasoline and am thinking a natural gas unit might be the better option since it will be permanently installed near my pool pump. Determining the size is hard for me because I am not an electrician and wouldn't know an amp from a watt. I figure they make em big enough for hospitals so there should be one I could use to power my 4 bdrm home as effectively as SDG&E does now. Anyone got a firm handle on this stuff? If we had a major power outage, the natural gas still flows right? Or am I wrong?

#2 CA Desert Dog

CA Desert Dog

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,937 posts
  • Interests:God, family & country. Predator hunting, shooting, reloading.

Posted 02 April 2010 - 08:53 AM

OK, Bruce. Start here Generator InfoI spent about 30-years at sea operating diesel power-plants for propulsion and electricity generation. If you have questions, I will be happy to help. Keep in mind that you will be much better off with a diesel tank in the yard than depending upon anything piped in. The whole idea of stand-alone power is being self-sufficient. In an emergency situation, you will be cutting back your demand anyway. A 15 to 30 KW generator should suit your needs under an emergency situation. Remember, more KW equals more gallons per hour.

#3 homemade

homemade

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,153 posts

Posted 02 April 2010 - 09:05 AM