15 replies to this topic

#1 Philthy

Philthy

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 January 2010 - 06:09 PM

I got a turkey hunting trip coming up end of march, and I saw that Big 5 has boots on sale, they are Coleman boots, both hiking and work, my question is two fold: 1) How important is it that your shoes match the rest of your camo, and more importantly, 2) am I wasting my money if I by $40 hiking boots from Big 5? I'm new to the outdoor camping/hunting sports, and Big 5 seems to have incredible deals, are they too good to be true? Thanks, I'll take all the advice I can get.

#2 Portagee_Shooter

Portagee_Shooter

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 779 posts

Posted 25 January 2010 - 06:18 PM

Having your camo "match" isn't nearly as big a deal as having camo that just breaks up your outline. BUT....I wouldn't wear big 5 boots if you paid me. Mainly because I am a firm believer in if my feet are happy so am I, when my feet hurt because of cheap or ill fitting footwear it can RUIN a great trip. If they fit and they COMFORTABLE might be worth it for you. I've looked at what they have to offer several times and have never been impressed.Personally I wear Rocky's and Danner's and have never been let down.Oh yeah...get the best most COMFORTABLE boots you can afford.

#3 OrneryOlMofo357

OrneryOlMofo357

Tikka Shooter, and a bad shot at that.

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,115 posts

Posted 25 January 2010 - 06:23 PM

..guess I had better not mention the Walmart shoe extravaganza... :signs1242cn:

#4 nitis

nitis

Predator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts

Posted 25 January 2010 - 06:28 PM

some people can wear cheap boots some cant I can wear some cheap boots but not very many all depends how picky you are about how your feet feel

#5 Guest_Shahan_*

Guest_Shahan_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 January 2010 - 07:08 PM