11 replies to this topic

#1 Stiff Neck

Stiff Neck

Big Shooter

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,070 posts

Posted 13 July 2006 - 10:43 PM

I'm a novice reloader, and there are a couple of other novices around here as well. I thought I'd share my method of working up a load. Those with more experience and wisdom than I have, feel free to comment or make suggestions. If there's a better way to do it, I'm all ears.I'm trying to work up a super accurate load for my Savage 12FV 223 for punching paper at 100 and 200 yards maybe 300 max. I chose the 53gr Sierra Match King BTHP bullet to experiment with cause the local shops don't have the 69gr SMKs and I'm not ready to make an internet order yet. Posted ImageMy brass is all cleaned Winchester once fired and full length resized with an RCBS die and Imperial Sizing Wax. They're all cut to the suggested "trim to" length each time they're used, chamfered, deburred, primer pockets uniformed, and flash holes deburred indexed off the trimmed case mouth. I haven't gotten into weighing and seperating cases yet... I measure the powder in an RCBS powder measure just below what I want on my RCBS 5-0-5 scale and then trickle the last bit in with a powder trickler for the exact amount I need. It's too easy to get lucky with 3-shot groups, so I use 5-shot groups for testing. I start off with 5 rounds each spaced 0.5 grains apart. The best accuracy seems to usually be just under the max load, so I load up some extras in that range and a few more +/- 0.2gr in each direction and hope that's the sweet spot. I'll show you what measurements I used just to illustrate the method, but you will have to use your own recipe from your manual for your individual loads. For this particular load using H335 powder, I loaded the following combos:5x 26.0 gr5x 26.5 gr5x 27.0 gr5x 27.5 gr (almost max)I figured the best accuracy would be near 27.0 gr, so I also loaded these additional rounds:5x 26.8 gr10x 27.0 gr5x 27.2 grBullets are seated with an RC