10 replies to this topic

#1 Magic Chicken

Magic Chicken

Squirrel Shooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts

Posted 10 July 2006 - 03:41 PM

Well, because I'm never happy with what I have, I'm looking for a new caliber. I currently have a .204 (bolt gun), .22LR (semi), .223 (crappy semi), 7.62x39 (sks x2), .308 (M1A and bolt gun).My interests are long range target and varmint shooting. I believe once I get my .308 bolt gun fixed up, it will serve the long range target role. Now I'm looking for a good long range varmint gun. My .204 definitely kicks butt, but I want the ultimate long range varmint caliber. I'm not quite sure what that would be as I'm new to the game, so I'm looking for suggestions. From what I've read, the .204 dominates the 22-250 ballistically, but I shot a 22-250 and shot the best group of my life @ 100 yards (which doesn't necessarily mean much long range varmint wise). I've heard good things about the .243, and have even heard that it's starting to gain momentum in some sniper competitions.So what would you all say the most effective, hardest hitting, flattest shooting, longest range varmint cartridge is?Or should the newbie (me) just shut up and be happy with what he's got? :)

#2 Frank

Frank

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,759 posts
  • Interests:Coyote Hunting #1, Valley Quail 2nd. Former (Idaho) mule deer hunter

Posted 10 July 2006 - 06:33 PM