• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 BearWhoHunts

BearWhoHunts

Varmint Hunter

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Interests:I am into foraging of all kinds. Hunting for game is just one aspect. Every time I am out in the back country I am looking for edible, useful and medicinal flora and fauna. I am also constantly working on survival skills. Hunted as a boy for squirrel, rabbit and some upland birds. I am a farmer by trade and I work for an organic farm founded on ethical work practices.

Posted 23 December 2009 - 12:51 PM

So I inherited my grandfathers 16 gauge about a month after my 870 was stolen and of course went out shooting and on my second shot it had a problem cycling and got jammed. After a long darn time we got the shells out and put her back in the case. Gave her to my uncle (a smith) and he changed out the spring and gave her a total overhaul. I took her out and took a swing at a dove. Shot one was a little out front so i followed up with another pull and much to my dismay my shell had not ejected. What the heck. Well the bird is happy and alive still and I am stuck with a single shot autoloader. I can manually eject my shells by holding open the action and kind of pulling the shell out. It is almost as if there wasn't enough clearance for the shell. Tight squeeze. Kept on hunting but only one shell at a time. I dont have the $$ to get another rig this season and I want to keep using this gun for sentimental reasons and the fact that it is an awesome feeling/looking 16 gauge with a great pattern. I was using the only ammo i can find around here in 16. Federal Game Shok Lead 2 3/4in, 1 1/8 oz, 7 1/2 shot, with 3 1/4 dram.If you have any tips, ideas or anything please let them roll!Happy hunting holidays,Bear
"Nature provides a free lunch, but only if we control our appetites." ~William Ruckelshaus

#2 Anchor Man

Anchor Man

Squirrel Shooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts

Posted 23 December 2009 - 06:45 PM