• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Divernhunter

Divernhunter

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, fun target shooting, reloading, collecting firearms. Also enjoy scuba diving and welding. Shoot 22RF to 50bmg.

Posted 20 November 2009 - 11:32 AM

I have a Rem 870 wingmaster 12ga that I bought in the 1960's before there was steel shot. It is mod choke and only a 2.75" shell chambered. I might try duck hunting and wonder if this gun is safe with steel shot and even if there is 2.75" steel shot shell that will do the job.I also have an old mil surplus Rem mod11(copy of the Browning A5) 12ga with skeet choke that I could use if steel would not hurt it.I have always shot lead with this gun and do not want to hurt it. I can get a different shotgun and one chambered for 3" or 3.5" shells if needed.

#2 4RHUNTS

4RHUNTS

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,193 posts
  • Interests:Hunting for varmints, two and four legged varieties, deer, pigs, birds, reloading, and fishing.

Posted 20 November 2009 - 11:45 AM

I would just call Remington to get the answer straight from the source, just to be safe.

#3 Divernhunter

Divernhunter

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, fun target shooting, reloading, collecting firearms. Also enjoy scuba diving and welding. Shoot 22RF to 50bmg.

Posted 20 November 2009 - 12:03 PM

Good idea. So I did and they said not to. So now what would be a good pump or auto to buy? What choke to use? What size chamber in 12ga---3" or 3.5"? Do not want to spend a forture as I am not sure I will do much duck hunting.Hunting ducks and maybe geese.

#4 4RHUNTS

4RHUNTS

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,193 posts
  • Interests:Hunting for varmints, two and four legged varieties, deer, pigs, birds, reloading, and fishing.

Posted 20 November 2009 - 02:19 PM