10 replies to this topic

#1 rtlltj

rtlltj

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 05:41 PM

I'd like to get into some coyote hunting and I figure I need to get started with some calls. Am I on the right track with these calls? I have no prior experience so I'm a complete beginner. If you guys have some better suggestions let me know. I figure I need a dvd since I don't have anyone to show me how the calls work. Dan Thompson - Long Range Standard PC-1 ( long range distressed jackrabbit)Dan Thompson - River Bottom Coaxer PC-3 ( distressed cottontail)Dan Thompson - Predator Calling with Dan Thompson DVD or Dan Thompson - Making An Impact On Coyotes DVDHere's some combo packs I can order as well:undefinedundefined

#2 Frank

Frank

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,759 posts
  • Interests:Coyote Hunting #1, Valley Quail 2nd. Former (Idaho) mule deer hunter

Posted 04 October 2009 - 06:54 PM

rt, you are absolutely on the right track. Dan Thompson calls are excellent. That PC-3 is an outstanding, LOUD, HIGH pitched sound that coyotes can't seem to resist. We've probably called more coyotes with that call than all our dozens of other calls combined, including E callers. AND the PC-3 really is not a "coaxer" (even though they call it that) but actually a cotton tail call. Thompson's, Weems Replica is another. Sceery(I like AP-2), Circe & others I can't think of right now are also good ones. A Dakota Yote (bulb) mouse squeaker is another good one & have called in dogs with that exclusively. A howler is a good idea, but perhaps better for later on. "ALLPREDATORCALLS.COM" on the net is a GREAT one stop, shop to purchase this stuff.Your 2 choices of dvd's are TOPS / Exceptional. I would also recommend at least one of Les Johnson's... but only AFTER both of Randy's that you chose of course.Good LuckFrank

#3 yotehuntinsoldier

yotehuntinsoldier

Squirrel Shooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 05 October 2009 - 08:06 AM