#1 TonyS

TonyS

Dog's driver

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 844 posts
  • Interests:Birds, deer, predators

Posted 28 August 2009 - 08:52 PM

I was studying the regs tonight and discovered that quail season for archery started last weekend.Has anyone ever had any success? I just started shooting a compound bow but I'm curious as I found quail last weekend.Anyone got any stories?

#2 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

Admin

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,655 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 28 August 2009 - 09:19 PM

It's a learning experience.

#3 tinhunter

tinhunter

Varmint Hunter

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts
  • Interests:hunting, fishing, camping, riding my atv. most things that involve the outdoors.

Posted 28 August 2009 - 11:13 PM

I would use blunts since judos have a tendency to tear up such a small bird. You don't have to use flu-flu's for quail since they aren't migratory. For best results look for them on the ground under bushes, pick one, range it, and let loose an arrow. Most of the time your shots will be 30 yds. + which makes it tough to hit such a small target. I am not successful a lot of the times, but I love shooting at small animals like quail, and squirrels; it really helps to hone your skills. Good luck in bagging some birds.

#4 TonyS

TonyS

Dog's driver

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 844 posts
  • Interests:Birds, deer, predators

Posted 29 August 2009 - 04:14 PM

Ever try it with field points? I would think they would anchor those little rascals.Learning experience, John? Lol

#5 GnarlyDude

GnarlyDude

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 30 August 2009 - 11:27 AM

yupp id recommend the bludgeon style heads. judos and those type just shred the birds to pieces

#6 Baja_Traveler

Baja_Traveler

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 665 posts

Posted 30 August 2009 - 12:33 PM