• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 wannakillacoyote

wannakillacoyote

"You can call me WKC"

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,951 posts
  • Interests:Hunting....Predators, Varmints and Upland Game but would like to try larger game.
    Computers....It's what i do for a living and sometimes for fun.
    Movies
    Spending time with the Family

Posted 13 August 2009 - 03:11 PM

I could have swore I saw a thread on here showing a camera mount, but I can't find it. I'm thinking of trying to rig up a camera either to my Tikka or my AR. If it's the Tikka it would have to mount around the stock (I have found one by deer ridge that does this). But, if it's the AR, I would like to mount it using either the flat-top picatinny rail or the picatinny rail on top of the gas block.I'm also goin to be shopping for an inexpensive video camera that uses FLASH memory (SD card probably) to store the video. These types of camera's I think will work well with the recoil.Anyway, any input from you guys/gals is appreciated.

#2 Soreloser

Soreloser

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 571 posts
  • Interests:Anything Archery and of course my 22-250 vs. coyotes..

Posted 13 August 2009 - 04:00 PM

ANY mount that you mount to your weapon will just end up with undesirable footage. Right at the money shot, the camera will jump from the recoil. Some jump more, some jump less but there is no way around this unless you are shooting a .22lr and even then there is a little.I would just skip the mount idea unless you just want to get footage of the animal coming in, but the kill shot will not look good and more than likely be missed, blurry or shaken.

#3 wannakillacoyote

wannakillacoyote

"You can call me WKC"

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,951 posts
  • Interests:Hunting....Predators, Varmints and Upland Game but would like to try larger game.
    Movies

Posted 13 August 2009 - 05:43 PM