#1 yotesniper

yotesniper

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Interests:hunting-coyote,elk,deer <br />fishing- trout,bass,mako<br />

Posted 28 July 2009 - 01:38 PM

Hi,I am new to the Tazidermy thing and would love to Bettle a Skull of a Coyote but i have never done this before and was wondering if you all had some pointers. 1. where do i get the Beetles? 2. What are the draw backs of using Beetles?

#2 CoyoteHuntress

CoyoteHuntress

Royal Oaks Taxidermy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,920 posts
  • Interests:Im a full time taxidermist and I LOVE Hunting- coyotes, bobcat, bear, boar, elk, deer etc..

Posted 28 July 2009 - 02:09 PM

Buy beetles from a breeder... Make sure you only get beetles that are healthy and bug free.. Mites and such can wipe out your colony. Switch, on here, sell beetles. Be careful buying beetles on ebay.. As for drawbacks.... You have to keep them healthy, fed, and bug free. You cant just throw in some rotted carcas.. . If they get too hot they will fly, if they get too cold they wont work..So you do have to babysit them... Also if you intend on just doing ONE skull, dont waste your time.. Just send it out or macerate it...
Royal Oaks TaxidermyAward Winning Taxidermist...When Quality Counts! DEER CAPES WANTED

#3 yotesniper

yotesniper

Plinker

• Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 28 July 2009 - 02:15 PM

what is a ball park price to have someone do the skull for you?

#4 Soreloser

Soreloser

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 571 posts
  • Interests:Anything Archery and of course my 22-250 vs. coyotes..

Posted 28 July 2009 - 02:52 PM

$30 - $35
Tim LewisFoxPro Prostaff

#5 CoyoteHuntress

CoyoteHuntress

Royal Oaks Taxidermy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,920 posts
  • Interests:Im a full time taxidermist and I LOVE Hunting- coyotes, bobcat, bear, boar, elk, deer etc..

Posted 28 July 2009 - 02:58 PM