33 replies to this topic

#1 BullsEye

BullsEye

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,068 posts

Posted 12 July 2009 - 06:42 PM

A buddy of mine is looking for an electric smoker to do sausage, hams, jerky etc. The whole 9 yards. I was wondering if you guys might have some experience with them and if you could recommend a good one. Thanks. :good:

#2 Yodel Dog

Yodel Dog

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,636 posts
  • Interests:Guns and hunting, fishing when I can.

Posted 12 July 2009 - 08:29 PM

I have no personal experience with this brand, but here is a link:cookshack.com

#3 Braz

Braz

Formerly know as Alpenliter

• Advertiser
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,814 posts
  • Interests:Witnessing the Republicans and the Democrats bicker over the U.S. debt is like watching two drunks argue over a bar bill on the Titanic.

Posted 12 July 2009 - 09:57 PM

I have used the Little Chief with great results.

#4 Fishwrestler

Fishwrestler

Predator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 436 posts
  • Interests:I am an Avid fisherman who would like to spend more time Varmint and Predator hunting. Trying to fit in all the hobbies with two young kids is a challenge.

Posted 13 July 2009 - 04:41 AM

Depends on how much he wants to spend. I have a big chief that is great for fish and I have done some jerky on it. I have been looking at this one http://smokintex.com/ for meats. It's pricey but the reviews i have read are good. Sportmans Warehouse on Rocklin has the 1500 for around 1300 on sale. I have a friend that swears by the Bradley Smoker http://bradleysmoker.com/ The only draw back is you have to buy their wood biscuits to feed it for the smoke. Good luck in your search and let us know what he ends up getting. Robert

#5 mac

mac

Big Kahuna

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,503 posts

Posted 13 July 2009 - 08:01 AM