21 replies to this topic

#1 BC9696

BC9696

Big Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,488 posts

Posted 05 June 2009 - 07:09 AM

I tried for 40 rounds to sight in a couple of rifle scopes yesterday and found I absolutely could not get em dialed in. One rifle keep shooting to the left and low, I couldn't get it to come to the center no matter how many clockwise clicks I put on it. Arrggg! The counterclockwise clicks worked on the elevation but it still shot to the left. Another rifle was shooting way high and to the left a bit and I couldn't get it to zero in either. A sighting scope woulda helped...guess I'll be buying one soon. I could really use a hand if somebody wants to come to http://www.angelesranges.com in the coming week or so. It seems simple enough but in actual practice I found it quite frustrating. I'm new to scope shooting and for the life of me, cannot figure out what i am doing wrong. I anchored the rifles in a lead sled and everything...shot the same ammo. Used a bright orange target, did have some swirling winds but not enough to matter at 100 yards. :) Maybe someone can help me get em sighted in? I can go midweek or weekends...am currently on a 6 wk vacation. Thanks.

#2 Bennie

Bennie

Big Shooter

• Gold Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,919 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, Fishing, Shooting.

Posted 05 June 2009 - 07:22 AM

I live too far to help, but will ask this question just to try. Please take no offense I seen this happen one time. The question is: Did you put the elevation turret on top?. I seen a gun with the scope mounted wrong one time that a guy could not sight in. It was an easy fix. Is the gun a bolt action? Was it shooting in the same place every time if you did not adjust the turrets?

#3 ShooterJohn

ShooterJohn

Admin

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,663 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, shooting sports and fishing.

Posted 05 June 2009 - 08:16 AM