74 replies to this topic

#1 jawbreaker

jawbreaker

Big Shooter

• Advertiser
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,946 posts

Posted 12 January 2009 - 07:07 PM

Hey guys I would like to get some opinions about a small game cal. Wich would prefer 17hmr or 22 mag for sqirrels rabbits or cans?I have an AR,22-250 and some 10-22's but would like to get a rimfire fore longer distance shots :roflmao3[1]: Ron

#2 wannakillacoyote

wannakillacoyote

"You can call me WKC"

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,951 posts
  • Interests:Hunting....Predators, Varmints and Upland Game but would like to try larger game.
    Computers....It's what i do for a living and sometimes for fun.
    Movies
    Spending time with the Family

Posted 12 January 2009 - 07:24 PM

Will you be shooting in the Condor zone ever? If so, 22mag is the ONLY current rimfire with non-lead ammo available. There is talk about .17hmr coming out in non-lead, but it hasn't happened yet.As for the comparison between the two, with the 22mag, it's gonna have more punch if you decide to shoot larger varmints. The 22mag is also better in the wind. The 17hmr on the other hand will reach out farther/flatter with less punch but more of an explosive effect.If I was deciding between the two, it would come down to one question:Am I EVER gonna want to shoot it at critters in the Condor zone?If the answer is yes, go with the 22mag, no go with the 17hmr.Either way, I HIGHLY recommend the Savage with Heavy barrel and Accutrigger. (I just picked up my 22mag last night).
Posted ImageA well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

#3 Red Dog

Red Dog

Shooter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 771 posts

Posted 12 January 2009 - 07:49 PM

I HIGHLY recommend the Savage with Heavy barrel and Accutrigger.