sxshooter

AR-10?

32 posts in this topic

I've been thinking about an AR-10 type gun. Any thoughts on these and their makers? My preference is toward a heavy short-medium length barrel.

i have a bushmaster ORC and i love it. not really fancy but a decent stock trigger and pretty good acuracy for a short heavy contour barrel out of the box. only wish the ammo was cheaper for burning through 308 quickly.

https://www.bushmaster.com/firearms/MOE_series.asp#myModal-90827

mine was the basic but i fitted it with the MOE foregaurd and stock and it made the rifle feel alot better.

I've been looking at the Thordsen FRS stock to build a featureless gun. At first I thought it was an abomination. But the more I look at it, the more functional it looks.

If I had the cash, I'd get a Seekins or LaRue. But from reading mags the S&W is supposed to be nice and easier on the wallet.

I went blind looking at the ugly picture.... :puke:

Hahahahaha, yeah, I understand the ignorant laws they are trying to skate around, but I refuse to shoot anything uglier then me!!! And that's say a LOT!

This gun would just be a tool to me. I have little to no hobby interest or fascination with black guns. I bought a Sig P239 several years ago and only fired a few magazines thru it. I should practice with it more, but just haven't made it a priority. This rifle would probably get about the same interest.

I should probably just buy a S&W M&P10 and be done with it.

if you want to go 308 semi and featureless just go get the M1A scout or socom 16

The M1A is definitely a candidate. Socom and Scout would be my preference over a full rifle M1A. The only issue I have with them is the forward scope position.

The Christensen CA-10 is an interesting gun. 7.8 lbs 1 MOA guarantee, Timney trigger, carbon wrapped barrel, carbon floated hand guard. Its a direct impingement gas system. I'd prefer a piston, but it's not a deal breaker.