Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lukem

Looking for First .22

34 posts in this topic

Hey there. I'm pretty new to hunting and want some experienced opinions on a first .22. I found a good spot with a decent number of rabbits, and i don't think my third hand pellet gun is going to do the trick. I'm looking for a bolt action or break barrel, single shot ok, for under two hundred dollars. the area is pretty hilly, no shots over 30m, so I dont need anything insanely accurate. any advice?

i am aware i am in a condor no lead zone. are you saying there is no non-lead .22 ammo?

I am no expert and just got into the air rifle as well. But I too just got my first .22 break barrel rifle last week and love it. That was a deal on Amazon for Banjamin Trail NP XL 1100 .22 rifle selling for $229 free shipping and no tax. MSRP was $359 from Crosman. I have check some review and almost 4.5 star on every site I have checked. You can find some review on you tube as well. I have learned that Nitro Piston least longer than springs piston and for a little bit over 200. I am sure others will give you more advise but just thought to pass out the info for good deal.

oops.. Sorry I didn't check it was on rifle board. I thought you were asking for an air rifle .22 . My bad.

no problem. i've thought about a .22 air rifle too, but decided to go the gunpowder direction.

For an under $200 rifle its hard to beat the marlins. or look for the bolt actions on the used rack at your local gun shops and pawn shops. In my lifetime Ive only seen two bolt 22s that were worn out. So they are pretty durable. A Savage 64 or Mossberg 802 also comes in at under $200.

thanks danger. i don't have too many gun shops in town, but ill look around the surrounding areas